Beacon of Freedom Award Winners

The Beacon of Freedom Award was presented from 2003 to 2015 to a book that introduced history, from Colonial times through the Civil War, to children in a historically accurate and engaging manner. The final Beacon of Freedom Award was made in 2015.   Learn more.


2015 One Dead Spy, the life, times, and last words of Nathan Hale, America's most famous spy by Nathan Hale

2014 Will at the Battle of Gettysburg by Laurie Calkhoven

2013 The Notorious Benedict Arnold  by Steve Sheinkin

2012 My Name is Phillis Wheatley by Afua Cooper

2011 Marching to Appomattox  by Ken Stark

2010  Two Miserable Presidents by Steve Sheinkin

2009  Iron Thunder:  The Battle Between the Monitor and the Merrimac by Avi

2008  Virginia Bound by Amy Butler

2007  Miracle:  The True Story of the Wreck of the Sea Venture by Gail Karwowski

2006  Victory or Death!  Stories of the American Revolution by Doreen Rappaport and Jan Vernier

2005  Lottie's Courage by Phyllis Haislip

2004  Behind Rebel Lines:  The Incredible Story of Emma Edmonds, Civil War Spy by Seymour Reit

2003  The Captain's Dog:  My Journey with the Lewis and Clark Tribe by Roland Smith